Info About Education in India


    Statutory Education Bodies In India


    The National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE)

    This is a national-level statutory body of the Government of India, established in 1995. Its objective is to plan co-ordinated development of teacher education system, regulate, maintain and monitor norms and standards in teacher education. It lays down norms for teacher education courses, accredits institutions, frames recruitment norms, carries out surveys, research and innovations. The NCTE has four Regional Offices at Jaipur, Bangalore, Bhubaneswar and Bhopal respectively.

    University Grants Commission (UGC)

    his is a Government of India entity and is responsible for coordination, determination and maintenance of standards, and release of central grants to the universities. Apart from this, Government of India has also established sixteen central universities in the country, which are totally funded by the UGC.

    Department Of Education

    The Department of Education, one of the four constituent departments of the Ministry of Human Resource Development, is under the overall charge of the Minister of Human Resource Development who is assisted by a Minister of State. The Secretariat of the Department is headed by a Secretary, who is also assisted by an Additional Secretary. The Department is organised into Bureaux, Divisions, Branches, Desks, Sections and Units. Each Bureau is under the charge of a Joint Secretary/ Joint Educational Adviser assisted by divisional heads.

    Council for Technical Education (AICTE)

    It was established by an Act of Parliament to develop, promote and co-ordinate technical education in the country. Technical Education broadly covers the field of engineering & technology, architecture & town planning, management, pharmacy and applied arts & crafts. The council grants approval for starting new technical institutions and introduction of new programs in consultation with the agencies concerned. Recently it has also created a separate body-National Body of Accreditation (NBA) that gives accreditation to institutions and grades the courses offered by them.

    Council for Agriculture Research (ICAR)

    It keeps the information and provides consultancy on agriculture, horticulture, resource management, animal sciences, agricultural engineering, fisheries, agricultural extension, agricultural education, home science and agricultural communication. It has the mandates to co-ordinate agricultural research and development programmes.